Now that cannabis has become legal in many states for medicinal or recreational use, there’s been some confusion surrounding its cultivation. This article will provide a straightforward and comprehensive guide to figuring out which states allow growing CBD and what rules and regulations you should be on the lookout for.
If you’re interested in growing your own CBD, you can find seeds available at i49.
Which States Allow Growing CBD At Home
- Alaska. Only those who are 21 and older can grow cannabis and have three adult plants at any given time.
- Arizona. Can only be grown for medical purposes by registered individuals.
- California. Growners have to be 21 years or older and are only allowed six plants per residence.
- Colorado. You can grow up to six plants, but only three can be adults.
- Hawaii. Only registered healthcare providers and patients can grow up to ten plants.
- Illinois. Only registered individuals can grow up to five plants for medical purposes.
- Maine. You have to be 21 years or older, but growners can have six adult plants and twelve immature ones.
- Massachusetts. Growners have to be at least 21 years or older, but can grow up to six plants or a total of twelve between a two-person household.
- Michigan. Anyone 18 and older can grow up to twelve plants.
- Missouri. You can grow up to six plants for medical purposes by registered individuals.
- Montana. Individuals can grow up to four plants for medical purposes or eight in a two-person household.
- Nevada. Can home grow up to six plants per person with a cap of twelve if you live 25 miles away from the nearest dispensary.
- New Hampshire. Registered caregivers and patients can grow up to three adult plants.
- New Mexico. Registered caregivers and patients can grow up to four adult plants.
- Oklahoma. Registered growners can grow up to six adult plants for medical purposes.
- Oregon. Only those 21 years and older in a single household can grow up four plants.
- Rhode Island. Residents can grow up to twelve plants for medical purposes.
- Vermont. Those 18 years or older can grow up to two adult plants.
- Washington. Up to six plants can be grown for medical purposes by registered individuals.
- Washington D.C. Anyone 21 years and older can grow up to three adult plants at any given time, although not for medical purposes.
This is just a list of states that allow cannabis to be grown at home, it does not necessarily include states that allow for the sale and use of CBD products. For more information, click here.
Other Rules and Regulations
Now, that’s a long list, but as more states make the transition to legalize cannabis, the list will likely grow. Remember, CBD is an extract from the cannabis family, which includes both the marijuana and hemp plant. This is an important distinction when it comes to its legality. Marijuana containing more than .03% of THC is legal while hemp THC has to be below .03%. Other rules and regulations you should be aware of if you decide to grow CBD are rules regarding labeling and if you can sell CBD in food and beverages.
If you’re interested in growing cannabis at home, thoroughly investigate the laws around growing and cultivation that apply to your state. Since CBD hasn’t been legalized on the federal level, each state has its own rules and regulations pertaining to the sale, production, and use of cannabis and its extracts. For example, some states allow CBD or hemp oil, but not any product that contains THC. The bottom line is, do your research! Good luck!